Thayers Witch Hazel Rose Petal Toner: Review for Oily, Sensitive and Acne-prone skin

I have been trying this toner since I ran out of my third bottle of the Dickinson’s Witch Hazel Toner. Check that post to know more about the benefits of Witch Hazel, especially for oily skin with big pores.

Anyway, this brand is what I was looking for when I first started turning to Witch Hazel but it was not available in the Philippines yet during that time. Thankfully, this has been available in Healthy Options stores this year so once I ran out of my Dickinson’s bottle, I immediately tried this one. I originally wanted this one because this has no alcohol in it. But that does mean it’s better? Read on!

fullsizeoutput_b8b

Price

I got this 355 mL bottle for Php 695, which is quite pricey but there are a lot contained in the bottle; it lasts for months!

Ingredients

fullsizeoutput_b8d

Performance

At first, I developed some small zits but I kinda expected that considering I switched brands. I hoped it won’t happen but after three bottles of using the same product then suddenly changing to another one. I was expecting some kind of reaction from my skin. My zits did not last long though.

The first thing I noticed with this one is the smell. It smells soooo nice! It smells like an expensive rose, the same smell as that of the Mario Bodescu Rose Water Facial Spray. If you don’t like the smell though, you can get the unscented one.  I use this to tone my face in the mornings and at night.

As with all witch hazel toners, this did a good job minimizing my pores. They’re still visible but not as huge as before. I also noticed that this did a good job keeping my oils at bay. My skin did not experience any reaction apart from the initial application. I did notice, however, that I got more acne when I used this compared to when I was using the Dickinson’s Witch Hazel, but that can be the result of many factors so I can’t really pin the cause on this one. Perhaps it’s because it has no alcohol in it? I’m not really sure. But this is still a great toner compared to the ones I’ve used before that were not witch hazel toner.

This is a great toner, one of the best toners I’ve used, but is it the best brand for a witch hazel toner? I’m not yet sure. I have to test this one out further before I can confirm that. Nevertheless, I will continue using this because it’s a great toner. It also adds moisture to my face due to the rose water ingredient and the lack of alcohol. I definitely will repurchase this again.

Do you guys also use witch hazel toner? What’s you favorite kind/type? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Talk to you guys in my next post ❤

UPDATE: March 19, 2018:

I have used this toner for months, ever since I got it. I have used up two-thirds of the bottle. This is a good toner – it did not cause me acne and it was not harsh on my face. However, I have had a bad bout of breakout last February (probably because I was stressed, pre-filming so much youtube videos and wearing so much makeup) and I noticed that this toner was too soft to fight my acne. I am currently using a skincare regimen from my dermatologist so I have postponed using this toner. Once my skin is under control, I will definitely get back to this.

Anyway, what I am trying to say is that this is a good toner to fight small acne and zits. For huge cystic acne, this dries them out much slower than the Dickinson’s Witch Hazel. So I will recommend the Dickinson’s toner when you are starting into witch hazel and have a lot of acne. But once you’re skin has cleared up with just occasional acne, I recommend switching to this one because it is much gentler to the skin.

I don’t have a preference over these two witch hazel toner; each has different purpose, at least for me.

Comment below if you found this update helpful.

xo

21 thoughts on “Thayers Witch Hazel Rose Petal Toner: Review for Oily, Sensitive and Acne-prone skin

  1. I bought Thyers at Watsons together with Cetaphil cleanser because I have developed rashes on my cheeks after I had the flu. But after using both products (Thyers and Cetaphil) I noticed that I got acne down on my chin which is not usual in my face. I temporarily discontinued using Thyers to observe what is the cause of acne.

    This is also the first time I have used witch hazel on my face.

    Like

  2. thankyou so much for sharing and updating! appreciate it. i think i would like to try this toner but still thinking should i buy unscented or rose petal

    basicanvas.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. Hi! is there a smaller size for this in healthy options and how much? I am planning to but one as soon as possible since a branch of healthy options is near me.

    Like

      1. For me, it was. There are tons of product so it lasted me for months. It did not irritate my skin but it does not do a good job of dring out existing acne. Go with this if you have your face (no current acne) under control and just want to maintain your skin but if you have many cystic acne and extremely oily skin, go for the Dickinson’s as that contains 14% alcohol but it will not dry out your face. Again, once your oiliness and acne are under control, switch to the milder Thayer’s

        Like

      1. Hi may i know, which brand would you prefer? For me na mag-start pa lang to use witch hazel? I have an oily-acne prone skin..

        Like

Leave a comment